top of page

A Dream Horse at the Right Time by Diana Garrettson


So when I first met “Roya”, she was a 5 month old foal at Cathy and Jon’s Farm, in Purcellville Virginia. Roya was still on her dam’s side, adorably fuzzy, and hiding behind her mother around these new people that had just interrupted a nap in her cozy warm stall. Her sire, even though in full January coat from living outside, was absolutely stunning. As I reached out to give her a gentle pat, this little filly and I made a connection, I silently fell in love with her.


Menagerie Roya, 2017 bay filly Sire: Menagerie Ziba; Dam: Mellennium Casianne Registrations CRS, VPBA and NACS eligible Owned and Shown by Diana Khabiri Garrettson, River Caspians, CK Ranch, Callao Virginia Bred by Cathy Sheen Johnson, Menagerie Farm, Purcellville Virginia.

In my mind I could hear the words of my father-in-law: the first rule of the horse business is don’t fall in love. I have also learned this over the years, all horses are beautiful, especially cute, fuzzy fillies. Yes, I knew better!


Roya as a young foal

My husband, Gerry, being the negotiator, made an offer to purchase both mare and foal, but Cathy could not part with her mare, Casianne. Besides, it would be a long while before a foal could be trained and shown, and Gerry did not want to make an offer on just the filly. Being an obedient wife, I just mentally prayed, sought God’s wisdom, and then swallowed my discouragement, and did not make any opposition to my husband’s decision.


Cathy was very gracious, and showed us her beautiful Caspian Sport Horse crosses, and my son, his wife, and three-year-old daughter all enjoyed petting the many animals in Cathy and Jon’s menagerie. I was content for the relaxing outing with my family on a sunny winter’s day and to meet Cathy, who was very helpful and friendly to us being new to Caspian ownership.


Fast forward to May 2018. Gerry decided to squeeze in a motorcycle vacation before we got too busy showing our miniature horses, and his Caspian, Aroostook Narcissus. I don’t ride motorcycles, so I didn't mind staying behind to tend to the horses and farm. After a couple of days Patricia from Fountain of Pony Partners, in Lousia County, called me about the availability of any additional miniature horses we might have for sale. She had purchased one from me 9 months prior, a trained little chestnut gelding, that was working out well for her therapy program. Indeed, we did still have a couple for sale and Patricia had a wonderful program where horses have a productive and happy life working with school children, and adults with disabilities. I also knew Gerry was keen on reducing our miniature herd some more to make more room for our Caspian herd.


Here is where things get really interesting! I don’t believe in coincidences, but God-incidences, when we turn control to Him for direction in our lives, even in the smallest of details. After some more friendly conversation, it turns out that Patricia now owned Roya, having purchased her from Cathy. When I expressed an interest in purchasing Roya, Patricia was reluctant because she was already showing a lot of potential. After further conversation, and knowing we would provide training and a good home, Patricia would consider selling Roya to me if I would consider selling her one of my other miniature horses, not on the for sale list. A pretty and sweet pinto mare that had caught her eye before. My, I almost fell off my chair!! I couldn’t get a hold of Gerry right away because he was motorcycling with the wind in his hair and enjoying the freedom of the open road. When he checked in that evening, I explained the situation and how much I would love to own Roya and that Patricia was willing to sell her to me. He was agreeable to both the sale of the pinto miniature mare and my purchase of Roya!


Owning Roya, my dream filly, became a reality! It is amazing how God’s timing is always perfect and works best for all involved. I am having such a wonderful time with Roya and can’t thank Patricia enough for trusting me with this beautiful filly. I look forward to the next step in Roya’s training this fall, and, God willing, to next years shows!


-Thank you Diana for sharing this special story with us - Editor

49 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page